Observations from former parade/character performer

Started by Disneydanseur, November 18, 2016, 09:53:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Disneydanseur

Hi all.

I've been on this forum for a while-and since I used to work in the "parade/character" department I thought I would share with you some of the thoughts Ive had reading some of the topics on this forum about auditioning/contracts/etc. And maybe debunk some myths or shed light on what it's really like without ruining too much magic as its not my place to do so.

About me:
I am a professionally trained dancer, I worked as a Parade/Character performer for a good half a year before getting "promoted" to a Dancer contract for various shows. I still work for Disney on/off as a dancer so gonna remain anonymous. But I did all the seasons, danced on parade alot, fur characters. And had alot of "face" character friends

Disclaimer: All of these are my experiences and opinions. Nothing is set in stone and there will allways be exceptions.

1. Waiting list:

As most know if you pass all the rounds (animation, dance, potentioally face/extra characters) you get put on the waiting list for 6 months. In my experience majority of the people working in Entertainment got called within the first month, if not a few weeks. I myself got called within 5 days. There are exceptions I am sure, but I have yet to meet someone in the department who waited longer than 2 months

-The reason? Disney hires a ton of CDDs (date to date) for the seasons, and after they are done they are in yet another "talent pool" that Disney uses at the times of year where they need more performers. Alot of them wants to come back, they dont need to be trained and they know what they are doing. So if you as a new person auditioning are not what Disney needs right now the likelyhood of getting called 4 months later after theyve had a million other auditions are not too big.

2.Best times of year to audition