Last minute deals?

Started by yogal, December 02, 2016, 01:39:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

yogal

Hi there, newbie here, married to a big Disney fan. I was hoping someone might be able to advise me... Historically, are there last minute deals i.e. a couple of weeks before, on offer for Disneyland Paris?

We are looking to go at the end of January for a few days (luckily can be midweek) and there was a fairly good deal (or so it seemed to us) on the official website until yesterday; staying at the Newport Bay Hotel, with 20% off plus halfboard plan for approx. £530. We were still considering if we should book it or not (silly really!) and when we went to do it today found out it's gone up quite a bit; guess because we're now in December and they officially announced the Star Wars event?
My question is: if we wait until say January 2nd or so to look at the website, are there likely to be decent last minute offers? I appreciate that the hotel we want might then be full but just trying to ascertain what people's experience is with last minute deals. I would happily say 'oh well' and wait until next year but I think my husband would very much like to be there for the Star Wars event in January so still want to pursue it. Thank you in advance.

rocker

Historically I can't think of last minute deals being offered. 
Have you thought about cookies??  i.e. Airlines, hotels & yes possibly even Disney use these to track your browsing & see what you're interested in so once you enquire after a deal, they know this & if you look again, they'll add a few quid.  Sneaky huh?

I suspect this may be the reason for the price hike rather than the fact we're now in December.  If you're ready to book, you can
a) look using a different device
b) or look using "In private" mode on your browser
c) delete your browsing history making sure you DO delete cookies.

& with a bit of luck, the price may go back down again.