Trip report: 29 November-2 December

Started by stifle, December 30, 2015, 04:42:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stifle

This is much later than I had planned. It's my first time writing a trip report for a DLRP visit, but by no means my first visit – I make it my 8th since 1994, when my mum surprised my sisters and me at the airport where we were supposedly dripping off my aunt who was going to France. Back then, Disney Village was called Festival Disney, you had to pay for breakfast (45 francs/€6.86), everyone was wondering whether Discovery Mountain would end up opening, and Town Square Photography sold copious rolls of film every day. On the other hand, there is still a lot the same – "it's a small world" has barely changed (current works notwithstanding), cast members still dance to Greased Lightning at Annette's, and Phantom Manor is still Phantomy.

It's almost a month since we actually went and it's taken me a while to write this up, so apologies if I've got anything wrong or out of order... but you probably won't notice anyway!

Let me introduce our dramatis personae for this report. My wife's extended family decided last year to pay a visit to DLP, and had so much fun that they decided to do it again this year. I wasn't a part of proceedings last time due to not having enough holidays left, but we got the plan through earlier this year. The Hotel Cheyenne would welcome back all those other guests, and I was to stay there for the first time. My previous stays have been at HNY and NBC.

Cast:
Me
My wife Emmy
Her parents T and M
Emmy's brother P, his wife C, and their two kids mini-P and mini-C (abbreviated MP and MC)
Emmy's other brother N, his wife D, MN and MD

And guest stars from this very forum teegee91, FoRever, and Mileto.

For Emmy and me the trip was of three nights and four days from Sunday 29 November, travelling by Eurostar. The rest of the family live in Ireland, with some travelling from Dublin and the others from Cork.