A big surprise, Summer 2001

Started by Tigerlilly, March 28, 2012, 10:38:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tigerlilly

This is less a trip report and more a report of the build up to the trip. It's laden with a fair amount of DIsney Magic so I thought it might be nice to share.

I was a poor student and my partner and I had been together for about 4/5 months, we both loved Disney and I concocted a plan and I also found some money from I don't know where.

I booked a few days in Disneyland staying at the Santa Fe. This was my second trip having previously stayed at the Sequoia Lodge in 1993. It was my partner's first trip, we would both go back again in 2006 staying at the Cheyenne and we're booked into the Newport Bay Club in a month's time, so my mission to stay in all 6 Disney hotels is on target!.

I scrounged some free BA flights from my mum (she flies a lot for her job so is never short on Airmiles, I rarely pay to fly) but I didn't tell my partner. I merely said that I had arranged a "Surprise" and left it at that. Remember this was Feburary time and the trip was booked for mid June!

About a month later, after a torrent of "What is my surprise?" questioning I let slip that it was a holiday by accident. After kicking myself I turned this to my advantage and said that yes it was a holiday, and a suitcase would need to be packed and ready for anything. Again this was three months out, and for the next three months I was asked "Is it happening today?". You might say that this was torture, but boy was it ramping up the excitement for both of us.